Fight cards begin to take shape for Bellator MMA’s return to Hawai’i next month

Bellator MMA has announced additional information about its return to the Hawaiian island of Oahu, where Honolulu’s Neal S. Blaisdell Arena will host back-to-back events on Friday, April 22 and Saturday, April 23.

BELLATOR 278 is headlining an undefeated World Women’s Flyweight Championship main event Juliana Velasquez (12-0) vs. former US Marine and No. 2-ranked flyweight Liz Carmouche (16-7).

Friday night’s BELLATOR 278 is held in honor of U.S. military, veterans, first responders, and medical personnel who are all eligible to attend the event with one guest for free entry on the day of with valid proof of identity. Free admission is based on limited capacity and available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Additionally, a pair of “Wild Card” matchups will take place, with the winner of each 135-pound contest officially punching their ticket to the $1 million BELLATOR World Bantamweight Grand Prix. First “Wild Card” Fight Features Number 8 Josh Hill (21-4) face Enrique Barzola (17-5-2) with winner moving to meet Magomed Magomedov in the quarter-finals. The second “Wild Card” contest will see #9-Jörnel Lugo (8-0) faces Danny Sabatello (11-1) with winner facing Leandro Higo. The dates of the two pending quarter-finals will be announced shortly.

Friday’s Main Card BELLATOR 278 the event also includes two additional marquee main card fights, light and heavy pairing Christian Edwards (5-1) against grant neal (6-1), as well as scrap metal of contractual weight of 160 pounds between Manny Muro (12-7) and Nate Andrews (16-4).

In the US, SHOWTIME will air the Friday night show BELLATOR Chapter 278: Velasquez vs Carmouche main board to 4 p.m. HST local hour, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PTwhile the preliminary fights will be broadcast live on the BELLATOR MMA YouTube channel, the SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel and Pluto TV from 2 p.m. HST local hour, 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The full list of fights for the event can be found below.

Saturday night’s BELLATOR 279 will feature a rematch of the Women’s World Featherweight Championship Cris Cyborg (25-2, 1 NC) against the Australian No. 1 Arlene Blencowe (15-8), who will be looking to win gold in his third world title attempt and the launch of the highly anticipated $1 million BELLATOR World Bantamweight Grand Prix. Former champion, ranked No. 1 Juan Archuleta (25-3) will challenge number 3 Raufeon Stots (17-1) for the interim bantamweight title, following news that the incumbent champion Sergio Pettis is on the shelf with an injury.

Also, to BELLATOR 279 on Saturday, ranked #2 Uneven mixing (15-1) takes on No. 5 Kyoji Horiguchi (29-4) in a five-round BELLATOR World Grand Prix contest and Oahu’s No. 1 Ilima Lei Macfarlane (11-1) returns home to fight Justine Kis (7-5) at flyweight.

In the US, SHOWTIME will air the Saturday night show BELLATOR 279: Cyborg vs Blencowe 2/Archuleta vs Stots main board to 4:30 p.m. HST local hour, 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PTwhile the preliminary fights will be broadcast live on the BELLATOR MMA YouTube channel, the SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel and Pluto TV from 2 p.m. HST local hour, 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. The most recent fight list for the event can be found below.

BELLATOR MMA 278: Velasquez vs. Carmouche Main board:

Friday April 22 – live SHOW TIME

10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT/4 p.m. HST (local)

World Flyweight Title Fight: VS-Juliana Velasquez (22-5) against #2-Liz Carmouche (16-7)

World Bantamweight Grand Prix Wild Card Fight: #8-Josh Hill (21-4) against Enrique Barzola (17-5-2)

World Bantamweight Grand Prix Wild Card Fight: #9-Jörnel Lugo (8-0) against Danny Sabatello (11-1)

Light heavyweight fight: Christian Edwards (5-1) against grant neal (6-1)

160-pound contract weight bout: Manny Muro (12-7) against Nate Andrews (16-4)

BELLATOR MMA 278: Velasquez vs. Carmouche Preliminary map:

BELLATOR MMA YouTube Channel | SHOWTIME Sports YouTube Channel | Pluto TV

8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT/2 p.m. HST (local)

Featherweight fight: Weber Almeida (5-1) against Fabrice Franco (8-4, 1 NC)

bantamweight fight: Jared Scoggin(10-2) vs. Cee Jay Hamilton (15-9)

Welterweight fight: Makoa Cooper (1-0) against Blake Perry (professional start)

BELLATOR MMA 279: Cyborg vs. Blencowe 2 / Archuleta vs. Stots Main board:

Saturday April 23 – live SHOW TIME

10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. HST (local)

Featherweight World Title Fight: VS-Cris “Cyborg” (25-2, 1 NC) against #1-Arlene Blencowe (15-8)

Interim Bantamweight World Title Fight: #1-Juan Archuleta (25-3) against #3-Raufeon Stots (17-1)

Flyweight fight: #1-Ilima Lei Macfarlane (11-1) against Justine Kis (7-5)

Bantamweight World Grand Prix First Round: #2-Uneven mixing (15-1) against #5-Kyoji Horiguchi (29-4)

BELLATOR MMA 279: Cyborg vs. Blencowe 2 / Archuleta vs. Stots Preliminary map:

BELLATOR MMA YouTube Channel | SHOWTIME Sports YouTube Channel | Pluto TV

8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT/2 p.m. HST (local)

Light Combat: Lance Gibson Jr. (5-0) against Nainoa Dung (4-2)

Featherweight fight: #9-Justin Gonzalez (12-1) against Kai Kamaka III (9-4-1)

Welterweight fight: Goiti Yamauchi (26-5) against Levan Chokheli (11-1)

Light combat: #6-Emmanuel Sanchez (20-7) against Yancy Medeiros (15-8, 1 NC)

Light Combat: Keoni Digg (9-1) against Bobby King (11-4)

120-pound contract weight bout: Randi Field (2-1) against Maraya Miller(1-1)

*Map subject to change.

Please visit Bellator.com for more information.

Comments are closed.