K-1 Group announces inaugural K-1 bantamweight tournament


Group K-1 have announced the inaugural K-1 bantamweight champion tournament, which will take place at the Ota City General Gymnasium on Sunday, May 23. The tournament is the result of the addition of the K-1 bantamweight division for the first time since the promotion held the first 53 kilogram championship tournament in Krush in 2016. Krush’s inaugural bantamweight title was held by Yoshiki Takei, who has since left the promotion to pursue a career in professional boxing.

Current Krush bantamweight champion Kazuki Miburo carries his undefeated record onto the big stage. He won the title at Krush 123 against top prospect Begin Yoshioka, who holds victories over three of the tournament participants and former champion Krush Koki. The nature of Miburo’s victory could be called into question due to restrictions placed on Yoshioka for lack of weight, but the 19-year-old prospect appears to be one of the favorites in the tournament arena. He meets Aoi Noda, winner of the 2020 55-kilogram K-1 Koshien, which has had mixed results since making his professional debut last year. Noda, 18, has lost two of his last three fights, with both losses ending in knockouts.

In the remainder of the tournament, 2020 K-1 Koshien finalist Naoki Omura makes his professional debut against former 55-kilo K-1 amateur champion Mao Hashimoto, who is 4-3 years into his professional career. Former 60-kilo K-1 amateur winner Yuya Uzawa meets 2018 55-kilo K-1 Koshien champion Hinata Matsumoto, who suffered the only setback in her four professional fights against the aforementioned Miburo. Top prospect Toma Kuroda has compiled four wins in seven contests with one victory over compatriot Noda. “TOMA” faces 2019 K-1 Koshien title holder Koji Ikeda, who also has four wins in his professional career and is currently leading a two-game winning streak, including one over Uzawa.


The promotion also announced a main card superfight between former Shoot Boxing Girls S-Cup champion and two-time ‘MIO’ finalist Tsumura (39-5) and current women’s atomicweight champion Krush Miyuu Sugawara ( 6-1).

Current battle card

Naoki Omura vs Mao Hashimoto – Bantamweight Tournament Quarter Final
Aoi Noda vs Kazuki Miburo – Bantamweight Tournament Quarter Final
Yuya Uzawa vs Hinata Matsumoto – Bantamweight Tournament Quarter Final
Koji Ikeda vs Toma Kuroda – Bantamweight Tournament Quarter Final
MIO vs. Miyuu Sugawara

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.